Skip to content


In June 2021, the governance of Stewardship Ontario transitioned from a Board of Directors to an Administrator appointed by the Resource Productivity and Recovery Authority (RPRA). 

Following the approval of the Blue Box Program Transition Plan and the MHSW Wind Up Plan, the transition of governance was a key component of the Board’s plan for an orderly wind-up of Stewardship Ontario.

Role of the Administrator

The Administrator fulfills the role of the Board, overseeing the work of Stewardship Ontario’s management team, and reports to the RPRA Board. See RPRA’s notice of the Administrator’s appointment.

The Administrator appointment was made pursuant to the Waste Diversion Transition Act, 2016, following notification from the Stewardship Ontario Board. Under the Act, the Administrator has the exclusive right to exercise all the powers and perform all the duties of the members of the Board of Stewardship Ontario.

Executive Leadership

Stewardship Ontario is led by a management team with extensive experience in senior roles and in the stewardship field. They are: Lyle Clarke, Executive Director; Jane Mackenzie, Chief Financial Officer; Scott Tudor, Steward Relations Lead; and Tina Caputo, Project Manager.

Steward Advisory Group 

As part of the governance change, Stewardship Ontario created a Steward Advisory Group that brings together industry representatives to advise the organization’s management team and the Administrator. The Steward Advisory Group meets quarterly and provides feedback on the implementation of the Blue Box Program Transition Plan.

Further information about program governance and past board members is available in Stewardship Ontario’s annual reports.