Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

Ministère de l'Environnement, de la Protection de la nature et des Parcs

Pa

Office of the Minister

Bureau du ministre

777 Bay Street, 5th Floor Toronto ON M7A 2J3 Tel.: 416-314-6790 777, rue Bay, 5° étage Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2J3 Tél. : 416.314.6790



357-2020-676

April 29, 2020

Ms. Debbie Baxter
Chair of the Finance, Audit and Performance Committee
Stewardship Ontario
1 St Clair Avenue West, 7th Floor
Toronto ON M4V 1K6
Email: dbaxter@deloitte.ca

Dear Ms. Baxter:

Thank you for your letter of April 23, 2020 about the direction I provided on April 1, 2020 regarding amendments to the Municipal Hazardous or Special Waste (MHSW) wind up plan.

In terms of the timelines in the April 1, 2020 direction letter, I understand that given the current situation with the COVID-19 pandemic, Stewardship Ontario (SO) will need further time to ensure it can undertake meaningful consultation with stakeholders on amendments to the MHSW plan.

Given these circumstances, I am granting an extension for the submission date of the MHSW amendments to the Resource Productivity and Recovery Authority (the Authority) from April 30, 2020 to June 5, 2020. It is my expectation that the Authority will approve amendments to the MHSW wind up plan, consistent with this direction, by June 25.

I am further re-iterating my direction to require that SO make the one-time lump sum payments of 100% of the material-specific surplus funds described in my April 1, 2020 letter to the Industry Stewardship Organizations within two weeks of the proposed amendments being approved by the Authority.

With the exception of the changes noted above, all other requirements set out in the April 1, 2020 direction letter must be met by SO.

Lastly, it is my expectation that SO will post this direction and the one from April 1, 2020 on its website.

Sincerely.

Jeff Yurek

Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

Ms. Debbie Baxter Page 2.

c: Serge Imbrogno, Deputy Minister, MECP

Glenda Gies, Chair, Resource Productivity and Recovery Authority

Frank Denton, CEO, Resource Productivity and Recovery Authority

Geoff Rathbone, Director of Transition, Resource Productivity and Recovery Authority

Charles O'Hara, Director, Resource Recovery Policy Branch, MECP

Mark Kurschner, President, Product Care Association

David Pearce, Vice-President, Canadian Stewardship Services Alliance

Automotive Materials Stewardship

Stewardship Ontario Board of Directors:

Robyn Collver, Canadian Tire Corporation Limited

Diane J. Brisebois, Retail Council of Canada

Paul Methot, Pizza Pizza Limited

Faroek Hanif, The Clorox Company of Canada Limited

Sylvain Mayrand, A. Lassonde Industries Inc.

Tim Faveri, Maple Leaf Foods Inc.

Ron Soreanu, Coca-Cola Limited